Probes Management

This section explains how to add a new probe entry, manage existing probes (aka endpoints), check the probes health, and configure the probes to be displayed on the live map.

Edit a Probe

Select the icon to edit an existing probe entry.

You need to have access to probe to be able to edit the probe.

The information about the probe will be available in the window below. They can be edited and selectUpdate probe to save new information.

The probe name can be changed but any existing test results will still be stored into test history with OLD probe name. 2 probes with the same name will be also showed in test history as same "entity" with no way to distinguish them.

View Probe Advanced Information

Select the icon to edit an existing probe and view the following information: active schedules which the probe is participating to, and meshes for which probe is belonging.

Endpoint in Public or Private mode

Probes that are defined can be public or private depending on the where they are connecting to the network topology in relation to the Hawkeye Server.

The location is automatically determined by Hawkeye server first time the probe is registering.

The determination is based on the ability of the Hawkeye server to open a new connection to the probe.

Typically, if the probe is behind a NAT, the probe will be seen as a private probe.

Private/public mode is very important as it will define Hawkeye endpoints strategies to bypass NAT/FW rules (see Firewall Test_UseCases).

There are cases where forcing a probe detected as private to public will be needed (or the other way around). Understanding where the probe is compared to the location of the other probe and Hawkeye server is important.

Remove an Endpoint

There are many ways to remove an endpoint from Hawkeye.

The endpoint needs to be first removed from any existing mesh and any active test execution schedule before deleting. If you attempt to delete the endpoint by clicking the icon, without removing the endpoint from all active scheduled tests it will automatically re-register with the Hawkeye server and will appear in the list of probes again.

In probe management, when an endpoint is edited is Active check box becomes available. If this box is unselected the probe will no longer be available for running tests and will not count against the active license count for probes. The endpoint connectivity status green or red will remain the same.

For a software endpoint, the install script can be run again and the endpoint software can be uninstalled. Following this, the endpoint in Probe Management will show as red. The endpoint can then be deleted from Probe Management.

For an XR endpoint (that is, XRPi/XR2000 VM, XR Cloud, XR Docker) the endpoint is continuously (once every 4 to 5 seconds) sending an “I am here” message to the Hawkeye Server, so just deleting the endpoint from Hawkeye Server will only work for 4 to 5 seconds.You need to first disconnect the endpoint from the Hawkeye Server either by physically disconnecting the endpoint or by connecting a ssh session to the endpoint and running the “probeConfigure” command and entering “0.0.0.0” as the Hawkeye Server IP. This will stop the endpoint from communicating with the Hawkeye Server and the endpoint will turn red shortly afterwards in Probe Management. At which point the endpoint can be deleted from Probe Management.